Skip Nav

Welcome to the Department of Atmospheric Sciences at Texas A&M University in College Station!

Our department is dedicated to advancing scientific understanding of the atmosphere, preparing the next generation of atmospheric scientists, and using our expertise to serve the broader scientific, government, and industry communities. Our most fundamental mission is to educate students at all levels. To that end we offer a B.S. degree program in meteorology and M.S. and Ph.D. programs in atmospheric science.

The department has twenty-four faculty members, including two joint appointments from other departments. Our faculty’s research activities focus on five areas: Weather and Forecasting (numerical weather prediction, data assimilation, synoptic meteorology, severe weather), Dynamical Meteorology and Climate Dynamics (geophysical fluid dynamics, climate prediction, climate change, radar meteorology, tropical meteorology), Atmospheric Chemistry (fundamental chemistry, air quality, aerosol physics, biogeochemical cycles), Physical Meteorology (radiative transfer, remote sensing, cloud physics, lightning), and Planetary Science (particularly, studies of Mars and its atmosphere).

As part of a public university, our department contributes to society through our educational and research activities, including administrative and educational efforts inside and outside the university. We also serve the broader community by participating in scientific societies, providing advice to state and federal governments, acting as reviewers and editors, organizing meetings, and consulting with industry.

As one of the top atmospheric sciences departments in the United States, we encourage you to browse our website and learn more about our department.

Warm regards,

Ping Yang
Professor & Department Head

Geosciences TAMU Logo

Aggies can change the world. Geoscientists lead the way.